How to Reset iPhone Settings (And Differences of Reset Settings)

How to Reset Your iPhone

Resetting your iPhone settings is probably the last function that you ever wanted to use in your iPhone. However, there might be some instances that you might need to reset your iPhone. This can be due to problems or glitches that you might want to rectify by resetting back your iPhone to factory default settings.

However, before you reset your iPhone settings, it is crucial that you backup your iPhone first. Read here on our previous article on how to backup your iPhone

If you do not know where is, the reset function is, here is the step how to reset your iPhone

How to Reset iPhone Settings

Step 1

Go to Settings

Step 2

In the Settings, go to “General Settings.”

How to reset your iphone settings

Step 3

In the General Settings, scroll down and tap “Reset.”

Step 4

In the Reset menu, tap “Reset All Settings”.

You would then need to enter your iPhone passcode to proceed.

This will reset your iPhone settings to factory default without deleting all your files and data.

WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENCES BETWEEN IPHONE “RESET ALL SETTINGS”, “ERASE ALL CONTENT AND SETTINGS” AND “RESET NETWORK SETTINGS”?

If you decided to sell or give away your previous iPhone to somebody else, it is essential that you wipe your iPhone clean before giving it up. You can wipe your phone by resetting it to factory setting default and erase all content.

However, there are several options in which you can reset your iPhone without deleting all the files such as photo and apps. Fortunately, the iPhone also has that option of just resetting your iPhone without deleting your photos and app.

Here we explain the differences between these iPhone reset settings.

RESET ALL SETTINGS

In the reset settings, the “Reset All Settings” are primarily used when you want to reset the settings of your iPhone only. It will just remove the settings that you have in your iPhone without removing any of your photos, apps and data in your iPhone.

iphone reset all settings

This function is helpful if you found that your iPhone has a problem or glitch. You only want to reset the settings back to see if you could rectify the problem or glitch without deleting all your data.

ERASE ALL CONTENT AND SETTINGS

In the reset settings, the “Erase All Content and Settings” are mainly used when you want to wipe your phone clean. This function is typically used when you want to sell or give your iPhone to other people to use.

iphone erase all content and settings

This function is helpful as it will completely delete all your photos, apps and documents that you have in your iPhone. It will also restore your iPhone to its factory default setting. Therefore, when you give it to someone else, it is already wiped clean for them to use it.

RESET NETWORK SETTINGS

So, what is the difference between reset network settings and reset all settings?

The reset network settings are used to remove all Wi-Fi passwords and Wi-Fi usernames that have been automatically saved in your iPhone. The reset network settings will not delete your data or change your iPhone into the factory default settings. It only reset the network settings in your iPhone.

iphone reset network settings

This function is useful if you are having a problem connecting to a network. Alternatively, maybe you want to give the iPhone to a person without them having the access your Wireless network.

So, there you have it. Simple steps how you can reset your iPhone and also the differences between the reset settings that you have in your iPhone.

Please also read our previous article on how to backup your iPhone before you reset or erase all contents in your iPhone. Please leave us a comment on how often do you reset your iPhone settings.


>